top of page
  • Writer's picturecampaign

A Solid Base for Eastmont Schools

I recently enjoyed a weekend of family camping in which a dear friend had passed along a book. It was an interesting read on relationships, attachments, and setting ourselves and others up for success in relationships and beyond.


Authors Amir Levine, MD and Rachel S.F. Heller, MA* share a study conducted at Carnegie Mellon University, published in 2010. Researchers were looking for behaviors that give a relationship a solid base, help others pursue their interest and explore the world with confidence. While the authors were presenting this information in the scope of personal relationships, I couldn’t help but recognize the broader reaching impact. The study found three distinct behaviors that lead to a secure base.


  • Be Available: Check in and be able to recognize when there is a problem. Be dependable to support.

  • Don’t Interfere: Provide support unobtrusively. Let them take charge and keep the feeling of power. You shouldn’t micromanage or undermine their confidence or abilities.

  • Encourage: Be accepting of their growth and learning, boost their self-confidence.

As I read this, I thought, this is what I want for my children. And...for my students. Then it dawned on me. This is what I want for Eastmont! Just as I strive to provide my own children and students with a secure base from which they feel confident to pursue their goals and to learn and grow, I aim to be a part of providing that same opportunity to all the students of Eastmont School District.


As a board member, I will provide genuine support by remaining accessible. I’ll provide strong guidance without interference and seek to understand matters from in-field experts. I will help build and refine positive policies that empower educators to build the best opportunities for our students in a fiscally sound and responsible manner. I will lead with encouragement and, where needed, direct participation to secure the base for our community and stakeholders.


Do you have a book you’d like to share? I’d love to hear about books that may have touched your life. Or, do you have thoughts on what I’ve shared? Let’s talk.


* Neither Whitney or the campaign to Elect Ms. Whitney Smith for Eastmont School District Position 2 is not compensated by the publisher or otherwise relating to this content.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page